Summer Meadow

Good afternoon on this lovely sunny afternoon!

As it’s summer I thought I would make a card that reminded me of walks in summer meadows using some of my Tattered Lace dies and embossing folders.  As a child at a very small country school, our teacher would see that sometimes on a warm and balmy day we would be flagging and finding it difficult to concentrate on our lessons. She would gather us up ( all 11 of us in our year!) and take us for a walk down the local country lanes where we would gather wild flowers, leaves, feathers, berries, nuts – whatever treasure we could find amongst the hedgerows. We would then return to school and place all our treasures on the nature table for all to admire. Of course by then we had benefited from some fresh air and exercise and were raring to get back to our lessons again – wise old bird was our teacher!

The free Summer Pasture die on issue 7 of the Tattered Lace magazine seemed a good place to start with its forget-me-nots, periwinkles and daisies. For this card I started with a 6″ x 6″ white card blank. I used a Tattered Lace Chains embossing folder to create a background for the focal point of the Summer Pasture die. I used Tim Holtz Broken China distress ink to distress the edges of the embossed white card. A piece of blue floral paper from my paper stash was matted and layered with the embossed card onto plain blue card stock. The Summer Pasture die was cut in white card stock and coloured in with promarkers in shades of blue, green and yellow. The daisy centres were coloured in orange and small blue gems were used as centres for the forget me nots. Tattered Lace Margarite dies were used to make the 3 flowers which were placed in the bottom left hand corner of the card. The card was completed with the addition of  blue pearls and a sentiment from Craftwork Cards.

And here’s a photo of my finished card – I hope you like it and I hope it reminds you of a warm summer day in the country too !

Tattered Lace Summer Pasture Card

Happy Crafting !
Lynda x

2 thoughts on “Summer Meadow

Leave a Reply

